<u>1989-90</u>



President's Theme: "Love and Peace"

47th State Convention Held: April 27-29, 1990, The Marriott Hotel, Oklahoma City

State Convention Theme: "ESA in the Roarin' Twenties"

Attendance at State Convention: Women 334, Men 56, Guests 4, DESA's 6, MAL 2, Associates 2, MESA's 2, Total 405 representing 58 chapters

Guests at State Convention: Cathy Holsted, IC Representative, IC Parliamentarian; Dee Tallman, Nebraska Past State President; Lillian Lizar of Arizona; Chris Dixon.

Oklahoma Membership: 1,961 members

SPECIAL NOTES:

- By-laws Amendments:
- A ten-page revision of by-laws were presented and adopted.
- Disaster Fund: Contributions of \$5,720.90 received from 63 chapters and 2 individuals. Claims totaled \$5,000.00.
- Philanthropic: 64 Chapters contributed 39,532 hours of service; Money \$149,587.86; Monetary Gifts \$45,211.32, for a total of \$194,799.18.
- Circle of Life: 3,044 ½ hours of service contributed by 43 chapters; Monetary Value \$824.60 and Monies \$26,158.55.
- Educationals: Distinguished Athenian Service Award winner, Mary Ann Jones, Zeta Gamme, Shawnee; number of Gold Links awarded not available; Gold Seal Winners: 1st Place – Gamme Delta, Tulsa, Jane Fleming; 2nd Place – Delta Chi, Midwest City, Joan Forrester; 3rd Place – Zeta Gamma, Shawnee, Mary Ann Jones.
- Sweetheart Pledge: 16 nominated, 8 in attendance at Convention.
- DIANA Winner: Mrs. Cathie Cecile Norman submitted by Zeta Gamma, Shawnee.
- Leadership Seminar: August 27, 1989, Marriott Hotel, Oklahoma City. Guest Speaker, Linda Bomar of Texas. 152 in attendance.
- State Project: Parkview School at Muskogee, Jane Brooks School at Chickasha, and Oklahoma School for the Deaf at Sulphur. Monies were distributed on a per capita student basis. Purchases were: Parkview, playground equipment and bikes at a cost of \$2,237.27; Jane Brooks, PAL equipment at a cost of \$2,237.27; Oklahoma School for the Deaf, VCR at a cost of \$200.30. Hours contributed to State Project 2,629 ½; Money donated to Project Fund \$5,191.27; Money and Monetary Gifts to schools and adopted children \$21,107.57, for a total of \$26,298.84.
- Easter Seals: 25 Chapters and the Oklahoma State Council contributed \$5,068.50.

Elected Officers:

President:	Wanda Lucas, Del City
1 st VP:	Dana Chase, Midwest City
2 nd VP:	Rosalie Griffith, Inola
Parliamentarian: Priscilla Drummond, Yukon	
Secretary:	Janette Murray, Pawhuska
Treasurer:	Billye Lackey, Muskogee
State Project Dir.	Peggy Morrison, Tulsa
P.J. Editor:	Lola Jaegers, Shawnee
Corresponding Sec.	Marcie Brothers, Del City

District Coordinators:

District I:	Debbie Fletcher, Guymon
District II:	Layne Wood, Yukon
District III:	Nadine Moyer, Skiatook
District IV:	L'Nora Barger, Granite
District V:	Mary Tarkington, Muskogee

International

Convention Held: July 16-23, 1989, The Grand Kempinski, Dallas, Texas

IC Convention Theme: "Diamond Jubilee"

IC President Presiding: Liz White of Texas

IC President's Theme: "Share Our Gifts So Rare"

Oklahomans Serving on IC Level: Cathy Holsted, IC Parliamentarian; Dorothy Smith, ESA Foundation Chairman/Director; Billie Fritch, IC Senior Membership Director; Norma Moore, ESA Foundation Chaplain.

IC Awards Presented To:

New Chapter Award – 3-way tie for 2nd – Oklahoma (4 new chapters) "Welcome Back" Award – 1st Place – Oklahoma State Membership Director Honor Award – 1st Place – Wanda Lucas (253 pledges) Maie Wells Award – 2nd Place – Dana Chase Top 10 Educationals: Beta Gamma, Tulsa – Jan Kendall, Chairman Zeta Eta, Midwest City – Alyne Strube, Chairman

State Newspaper Award – 1st Place – Janette Murray, Editor Circle of Life, 100% Participation – Oklahoma – Kathy Flanagan, Chairman Judy Lester Trophy (most entries in Assoc. of the Arts) - Oklahoma