ESA INTERNATIONAL OKLAHOMA STATE COUNCIL 2001-2002



President: Aletha Bolt, Oklahoma City

President's Theme: "Exploring ESA in Oklahoma"

Oklahoma Membership: 70 Chapters, 980 Members

59th State Convention: April 26, 27 & 28, 2002

Marriott Hotel, Oklahoma City, OK

State Convention Theme: "ESA Oklahoma Treasures"

Convention Attendance: 205 ESA Women, 31 Men, 1 DESA

and 35 Guests for a total of 272.

State Convention Guest: I.C. Treasurer; Judi King

Elected Officers

President: Aletha Bolt, Oklahoma City

1st Vice President: Linda Voss, Luther

2nd Vice President: Patsy Timmons, Muskogee Parliamentarian: Robbin Brown, Choctaw

Becky Leslie, Owasso Recording Secretary: Carolyn Dyer, Tulsa Treasurer:

Project Director: Jane Pauley, Lawton Petticoat Journal Editor: Dana Terrell. Kingfisher Corresponding Secretary: Jacque Edwards, Guthrie

District II Coordinator: Cathy Holsted, Kingfisher District III Coordinator: Jean Swant, Skiatook District IV Coordinator: Peggy Campbell, Shawnee

District V Coordinator: Jayna Santine, McAlester

I.C. Convention: July 8-14, 2002, Westin Hotel, Indianapolis, Indiana

I.C. Convention Theme: "Back Home Again"

I.C. President Presiding: Bobbie Massey, New Mexico

Oklahoman Serving on the IC Board: Rosalie Griffith, Inola, 2nd Vice President

Oklahomans Serving on the ESA Foundation Board of Directors:

Cathy Holsted, Kingfisher, Chairman

Jeanne Meyer, Muskogee, State Counselors Director

Lola Jaegers, Shawnee, Jr. Past Chairman

I.C. Awards:

DIANA – 1st Place – Charlene Mowery-Samuels, sponsored by Beta Alpha, McAlester

Disaster Fund, State Donating Most Monies – 3rd Place – Linda Voss

ESA Foundation, 2002 Fantasy Ball Award – 1st Place

ESA Foundation, Voluntary Contribution to Scholarship Fund, - 3rd Place

ESA Foundation, Scholarship, Contributing Most Money – Honorable Mention ESA Foundation, Chapter Contributing Most Money – 3rd Place, Theta Tau, Kingfisher

ESA Foundation, Contributing Most Money to Sponsored Projects – 1st Place

The Top Ten Educational Award – Delta Kappa, Norman

Maie L. Wells Award – 2nd Place – Patsy Timmons

I.C. Awards (continued):

Membership Growth, Greatest Growth by Number – 2nd Place

State Membership Director Honor, Greatest Growth by Number - 3rd Place

Deb Hughes and Nellrita Barrick

Membership Net Growth Award

New Chapter Award, Most New Chapters Chartered – 1st Place

News Bulletin Award – Honorable Mention

Jr High Outstanding Youth – 1st Place – Rachel Henry sponsored by Zeta Gamma Shawnee Chapter Philanthropic Award, Donating Greatest Number of Hours – 3rd Place

- Beta Gamma Tulsa

What ESA Means to Me, Members of Less Than One Year -3^{rd} Place - Jan Lacy, Arapaho What ESA Means to Me, Members of More Than One Year -1^{st} Place - Deb Hughes, Tulsa Years of Service Recognition -45 years - Joyce Whitewing, Hominy



SPECIAL NOTES:

New Chapters:

Kappa Theta #5414, Guthrie, chartered May 5, 2001 Lambda Rho #5418, Broken Arrow, chartered June 22, 2001 Alpha Nu #5425, Arapaho, chartered March 7, 2002 Gamma Psi #V366, Clinton -Arapaho, chartered March 7, 2002 Eta Pi #5426, Del City, chartered March 21, 2002

Chapter Reinstatement:

Gamma Kappa #4018, Checotah, reinstated December 6, 2001

- > By-Law Amendments:
 - 1. Eliminated January State Board Meeting
 - 2. Added November State Board Meeting and State Council Meeting
 - 3. Changed Circle of Life Chairman from a 1 year appointment to a 2 year appointment
- > State Council Meeting Notices distributed to membership via Email for the first time.
- > President traveled more than 8,500 miles to ESA related meetings, functions, fundraisers, etc.
- ➤ Disaster Fund: \$3,935.00
- Philanthropic: 34 Chapters reporting

21,360 hours

\$348,635 monies, miles and monetary value

Circle of Life: \$143,193.99Easter Seals: \$4,142,61

> ESA Foundation: \$14,533.66 donations; \$9,958.20 turnaround fund

➤ Educationals: 14 Gold Link Awards

18 Chapters made an "Oklahoma Discovery"

5 entered the Gold Seal contest

4 Educational Directors were nominated for the Distinguished Athenian

- Distinguished Athenian: Lana Henson, Nu Delta #5244, Muskogee
- ➤ DIANA: Nancy Durbin, sponsored by Zeta Gamma #4253, Shawnee
- Outstanding Youth Junior High Allison Wilson, sponsored by Beta Gamma #391, Tulsa
- Outstanding Youth Senior High Jennifer Doerkson sponsored by Delta Kappa #3538, Norman
- State Projects: Oklahoma School for the Blind, Muskogee Oklahoma School for the Deaf, Sulphur
- Leadership Seminar: August 19-20, 2001, Enid, Attendance 116

Special Guest Speaker: I.C. News Bulletin Chairman Rhea Weaver, St. Louis, MO