ESA INTERNATIONAL OKLAHOMA STATE COUNCIL 2007-2008



President: Ramona Paine, Kingfisher

President's Theme: "Light the Path to ESA's Future

Oklahoma Membership: 46 Chapters, 875 Members

65th State Convention: April 25-27, 2008

Crowne Plaza, Oklahoma City

State Convention Theme: "Where in the World is ESA"

Convention Attendance: 152 ESA Women, 3 DESAs, 43 guests, for a total of 198

940010, 101 01 101011 01 1000

State Convention Guest: Rose Pasillas, IC Recording

Secretary

Elected Officers:

President: Ramona Paine, Kingfisher 1st Vice President: Bunnie Sullins, Hominy 2nd Vice President: Deb Hughes, Tulsa

Parliamentarian: Joyce Gibson-Madden, Norman Recording Secretary: Jennye Hickman, Haywood Gwynn Nell Swanson, Blanchard Project Director: Jacque Edwards, Guthrie

Project Director: Jacque Edwards, Guthrie

Petticoat Journal Editor: Donna Shook, Oklahoma City

Vivian Cibson, Norman

Corresponding Secretary: Vivian Gibson, Norman Jr. Past President: Robbin Brown, Choctaw

Sr. Past President: Sue Knight, Inola

District II Coordinator:

District III Coordinator:

District IV Coordinator:

District V Coordinator:

Mary Toole, Shawnee

Mona Martin, Wilburton

IC Convention: Chattanooga, Tennessee, July 7-12, 2008

IC Convention Theme: "Down Home in Tennessee"

IC President Presiding: Rhea Weaver

Oklahomans Serving on the IC Board:

Judi York, Jr. Membership

Deb Hughes, Certified Leadership SeminarCommittee

Oklahomans Serving on the ESA Foundation Board:

Vivian Gibson, Treasurer Cathy Holsted, Advisor

State Convention Awards:

Association of the Arts

Clara Vaughn Participation Award:

Division I – Poetry:

Division I – Short Story or Humorous Essay:

Division II – Music:

"What ESA Means to Me" (one year or less)
"What ESA Means to Me" (more than one year)

Publicity:

President's Award:

President's Special Recognition:

Kappa Theta, Guthrie

Barbara Reeves, Eta Epsilon, Skiatook (1st Place)

Mary Joplin, Eta Epsilon, Skiatook (1st Place)

Jennye Hickman, Beta Iota, McAlester Libby Zaage, Kappa Theta, Guthrie Connie Johnson, Kappa Theta, Guthrie Sigma Chi, Inola, Sue Knight, Chairman

Theta Tau, Kingfisher

Cathy Holsted, Theta Tau/Convention 2008

Chairman and Vivian Gibson, Delta Kappa, Norman

Special Notes:

Circle of Life: \$74,712.46Disaster Fund: \$3,309.00Easter Seals: \$3,296.42

• Educationals: 9 Gold Seal entries

22 Gold Link Awards

14 "Indulge Yourself" Educational Director's Theme

- Distinguished Athenian: Marjorie Szabo, Alpha Theta #1038, Muskogee
- DIANA: Beth Gatewood, sponsored by Delta Kappa, Norman
- Outstanding Youth-Senior High: Amanda Davis, sponsored by Kappa Theta, Guthrie
- Outstanding Youth-Junior High: McKinley Lockhart, sponsored by Beta Psi, Clinton

• Philanthropic: \$386,851.47 (grand total monies)

26,187.62 (hours)

\$12,139.56 (donated goods)

24 Chapters reported

• State Projects: Oklahoma School for the Blind, Muskogee

Oklahoma School for the Deaf, Sulphur

By-Law Amendments:

Article IV – Officers – Section 1

The Corresponding Secretary shall be the choice of the President Elect and serve with a vote on the Executive Board.

• Article IX - General Board - Section 1

Remove Corresponding Secretary from standing committees

Article XV – Executive and General Board Meeting – Section 5

Eliminate the annual report, but required to keep a written record of work done pertaining to her office or committee and delivered to her successor at the close of annual convention.

• Standing Rule Change #3 (adopted March 2008)

The Petticoat Journal will be available by mail or electronic method. Price to be determined each year. Petticoat Journal Editor will be responsible for executing a hard copy list.

State Council Meetings:

June 23, 2007 – First Southern Baptist Church, Guthrie

November 17, 2007 – First United Methodist Church Life Center, Hennessey

March 16, 2008 – Roman Nose State Lodge, Watonga

Leadership Seminar:

August 19, 2007 - Nigh Center, UCO, Edmond

Guest Speakers: Major General Rita Aragon & Patti Loughlan

IC Awards:

Selected as one of five (out of 35) Outstanding State Presidents Maie Wells Outstanding State Educational Director: Deb Hughes

Epsilon Beta, Enid, Ramona Paine, chair Top Ten Educational Programs:

Delta Kappa, Norman, Sharon McGuire, chair

Libby Zaage, Kappa Theta, (1st Place) "What ESA Means to Me" (one year or less)

Donna Shook, editor (2nd Place) Petticoat Journal News Bulletin: Publicity:

Sigma Chi, Inola, Sue Knight, Chair, (3rd Place)

ESA Foundation Awards

Chapter Foundation Award: Foundation Scholarship Award (3rd Place) 2008 Fantasy Ball Award (1st Place)

Theta Tau, (1st Place)

Miscellaneous

President's Newsletter (5 issues):

Symbol:

Point of Light Awards: Lighthouse Award: Years of Service:

5th Degree:

Lighthouse Express Lighthouse Judy Montgomery & Frances Mann Beverly Hanna Lucille Teemley, Epsilon Beta, Enid - 55 years Ann Michaels, Delta Epsilon, Del City – 50 years Aletha Bolt, Beta Zeta, Oklahoma City

