

President: Nevada (Bunnie) Sullins, Epsilon Kappa #1945 Hominy 2008-2009



President's Theme: <u>Soar</u>ing For ESA (<u>S</u>eek <u>O</u>ut <u>A</u>nd <u>R</u>ecruit) for ESA

Oklahoma Membership: 66th State Convention: Oklahoma	45 Chapters, 830 Members April 24-26,-Cherokee Casino Resort; Catoosa,	
Convention Chairman: State Convention Theme:	Priscilla Drummond ESA Casino Royal	
Convention Attendance:	171 Women, 25 Men, 6 Guests: 202 Total	
State Convention Guest Elect	Jamie Atchison, IC 1 st Vice President, Pres.	
Elected Officers:		
President	Bunnie Sullins, Hominy	
1 st Vice President:	Deb Hughes, Tulsa	
2 nd Vice President:	Jacque Edwards, Guthrie	
Parliamentarian:	Jennye Hickman, Haywood	
Recording Secretary:	Joyce Gibson-Madden, Norman	
Treasurer:	Robyn Ryan, Hominy	
Project Director:	Mary Ann Jones, Shawnee	
Petticoat Journal Editor:	Charlene Law, Claremore	
Corresponding Secretary:	Joyce Whitewing/Slate, Hominy	
Jr. Past President:	Ramona Paine, Kingfisher	
Sr. Past President:	Robbin Brown, Choctaw	
District II Coordinator:	Aletha Bolt, Yukon	
District III Coordinator:	Judi York, Broken Arrow	
District IV Coordinator:	Maxine Wheelan, Mid West City	
District V Coordinator:	Margaret Kramer, Eufaula	
State Council Meetings:	Attendance	
5/17/08, Executive & Gene:	= -	
6/21/08, State Council Med		
11/8/08, State Council Med		
3/21/09, State Council Meeting - Sapulpa, OK 94 (4) First time		
Leadership Seminar: 8/9/08, Freddie's Restaurant, Sapulpa, OK 88 (3) First time		
8/9/08, Freddie's Restaurant, Sapulpa, OK 88 (3) First time Guest Speaker: ESA Membership Corporation, Executive Director B. J.		
Clark	ersnip corporation, Executive Director B. J.	

State Convention Awards: Association of the Arts Clare Vaughn Participation Award: Kappa Theta, Guthrie **Division 1 - Poetry** 1st Place Joyce Gibson-Madden, Norman Division 1 - Short Story or Humorous Essay: Beverly Schwarzkoph, Broken Arrow What ESA Means to Me (one year or less) 1st Place Mary Johnson, Hominy What ESA Means to Me (More than one year) 1st Place Toni Morrow, Guthrie **Publicity:** 1st Place Delta Kappa, Norman President's Award: Epsilon Kappa, Hominy Educationals: 1st Place Nellrita Barrick, Clinton Circle of Life: 15 members or less- 1st Place Beta Gamma, Tulsa 16 members or more - 1st Place Gamma Zeta, Edmond Disaster Fund: 15 members or less- 1st Place Delta Chi, Midwest City 16 members or more - 1st Place Theta Tau, Kingfisher Easter Seals: 1st Place Theta Tau, Kingfisher Distinguished Athenian: Gwynn Nell Swanson, Delta Kappa, Norman Diana: 1st Place Skiatook Outstanding Youth-Senior High Laguana Sango - Beta Gamma, Tulsa Outstanding Youth-Junior High Correy Moyer - Eta Epsilon, Skiatook Philanthropic: 15 members or less- 1st Place Beta Gamma, Tulsa 16 members or more - 1st Place Theta Tau, Kingfisher State Projects: 15 members or less- 1st Place - Delta Ch, Midwest City 16 members or more - 1st Place - Epsilon Kappa, Hominy Years of Service: 50 Years Patty Cliffton Skiatook Betty Holt Skiatook Nadine Moyer Skiatook 60 Years Ardyce Briggs Muskogee Marjorie Szabo Muskogee Betsy Standridge Muskogee 65 Years Maribel Moore Enid 5th Degree: Joyce Sisson Hominy Donna LaMascus Hominy Joyce Lacey-Kenny Clinton Deb Hughes Tulsa By-Laws Amendments: none IC Convention: 7/13-18, 2009 San Antonio, Texas "Lone Star Extravaganza" IC Convention Theme: IC President Presiding: Judy Huntley Oklahomans Serving on the IC Board: ESA Membership Corporation, Chairman of the Board - Rosalie Griffith, Inola IC SR. Membership Chairman: Judi York, Broken Arrow IC Auditing Committee Aletha Bolt, Yukon Oklahomans Serving on the ESA Foundation Board: ESA Foundation Director: Vivian Gibson, Norman

IC Awards: What ESA Means to Me (one year or less) 1st Place-Mary Johnson, Hominy What ESA Means to Me (more than one year) - Toni Morrow - 1st Place Maie Wells Outstanding State Educational Director - Jacque Edwards, Guthrie The State News Bulletin - Honorable Mention ESA Foundation Awards: The ESA Foundation 2009 Fantasy Ball - 1st Place Oklahoma The ESA Foundation State Award 3rd Place Oklahoma

ESA Foundation Lifetime Members: Priscilla Drummond - Hominy Deb Hughes - Tulsa

Miscellaneous:

President's Newsletter	The Soaring Eagle
Symbol	Soaring Eagle
Eagle Award:	Tina Davenport-McKamie

This was a year of firsts: First time a State Convention was held at a Casino Resort. First time workshops were not given at Convention but instead were given at the State Council Meetings. I think cutting report time was necessary to hold the attendees' attention, therefore attendance was up at State Council Meetings and Convention, meetings moved quickly and everyone got to go home at a decent hour. We had two Dream Homes this year, one in Jenks, Ok and the other one in Yukon, Ok. This year we gave St. Jude \$480,682.70 at IC Convention.

