ESA International Oklahoma State Council 2011 - 2012



President: Gwynn Nell Swanson

President's Theme: "Come Dance with Me in ESA" Oklahoma membership: 37 chapters, 547 members

69th State Convention: April 27-29, 2012

Holiday Inn, Norman, OK

State Convention Theme: "ESA in the Country"

Convention Attendance: 123 ESA Members, 13 Men,

34 guests, 2 DESAs for a total of 172

IC 2nd Vice President, Vicky Jones State Convention Guest:

Elected Officers

President 1st Vice President 2nd Vice President Parliamentarian Recording Secretary Treasurer Corresponding Secretary **Project Director**

Gwynn Nell Swanson Joyce Gibson Tina McKamie Connie Johnson Billye Peterson Linda Southerland Sue Knight Margaret Kramer

PJ Editor District II Coordinator District III Coordinator District IV Coordinator District V Coordinator Jr. Past President/Disaster Sr. Past President/Workshop

Rita Hains Sylvia Ochs Peggy Hughes Ellen Clark Ruth Thompson Jacque Edwards Deb Hughes

IC Convention: July 16 – 22, 2012 **IC Convention Theme:** "Red Dirt Rendezvous"

IC President Presiding: Rose Pasillas Embassy Suite, Norman, OK

Oklahoma Serving on the IC Board:

Rosalie Griffith, President, ESA Membership Corp. Deb Hughes, Jr. State President Chairman Ramona Paine, Audit Committee Member

Stormy Simmons, AV Technical Support Assist. Cathy Holsted. IC 2012 Convention Chairman Aletha Bolt, IC 2012 Convention Co- Chairman

State Convention Awards:

Association of the Arts:

Clara Vaughn Participation Award Sigma Chi 5053, Inola

Division I – Poetry

"What ESA Means to Me" (one tear or more)

Publicity

President's Award

Outstanding Chapter (15 or less0 Outstanding Chapter (16 or more)

Service Awards: 5th Degree

Linda Leveridge, Delta Kappa, Norman Peggie Sprinkle, Beta Gamma, Tulsa Beta Psi 0498, Clinton, Nellrita Barrick Delta Kappa 3538 & Robbin Brown Zeta Gamma 4253, Shawnee Delta Kappa 3538, Norman

Patsy Timmons, Nu Delta, Muskogee Dr. Billye Peterson, Gamma Zeta, Edmond

Felicia Rowe, Epsilon Kappa, Hominy

Special Notes:

- ESA for St. Jude \$603,811.03
- Disaster Fund \$3,000.00
- Easter Seals \$6,131.50
- Educational: 5 Gold Seals Entries
 14 Gold Link Awards
- Distinguished Athenian: Lora Thompson, Zeta Gamma 4253, Shawnee
- DIANA: Cathe Fox, sponsored by Delta Kappa, Norman
- Outstanding Youth Sr. High: Joshua Ervin, sponsored by Beta Gamma, Tulsa
- Outstanding Youth Jr. high: Meaghan Rissman, sponsored by Delta Kappa, Norman

By-Law Amendments:

- Article III Membership & Classification Section 2: This amendment clarifies the deadline for dues that must be paid in order to qualify for contests. A new Section 3 has been added and the old Section 3 changed to Section 4.
- Article XII Voting Section 3: Clarification: The International Council dues must be paid current
 for voting privileges at both the state and International levels. Voting should not have anything to do
 with qualifying for contests, awards, etc.

State Council Meetings:

June 18, 2011 – Goodrich Methodist Church, Norman November 12, 2012 - Goodrich Methodist Church, Norman March 17, 2012 - Goodrich Methodist Church, Norman

Leadership Seminar:

August 13, 2012 – Holiday Inn Hotel, Norman Guest Speakers: Diane Hamill, Oklahoma DAR Regent & Andrea Brown Robinson (Robbin Brown's daughter)

IC Awards:

Maie Wells Outstanding State Educational Director: Tina McKamie, 2nd Vice President/Educational Director

Top ten Educational Programs: Kappa Alpha, Tulsa - Darlene Cushenberry, Educational Director

Outstanding State Web Site: 3rd Place, Oklahoma 2012 Fantasy Ball Award: 1st Place - \$1,500.00

Association of the Arts Awards: Division VII Needlework – 3rd Place, Judy Cravens

Division VIII Holiday – 1st Place & 2nd Place, Sue Knight