Epsilon Sigma Alpha International 67th Annual Oklahoma State Convention First General Assembly Minutes Saturday, May 1, 2010

Call to seating for the First General Assembly at 8:25 a.m. was by Sooner Seniorette, Linda Voss.

Opening ceremony, including the Chapter Banner and Flag Presentations, was conducted by Sooner Seniorettes Robbin Brown and Linda Voss.

President, Deb Hughes declared the 67th Annual Oklahoma State Convention of Epsilon Sigma Alpha in session. The Opening Ritual was recited. Chaplain, Mary Toole read the thought for the day.

The host chapters Beta Gamma, Gamma Delta, Kappa Alpha, Omega Pi, of Tulsa, Eta Mu, Owasso, Alpha Rho, Broken Arrow and Theta Sigma, Jenks were recognized. Convention Chairman Judi York gave the welcome.

Judi York introduced Radisson Hotel Representative Brandi Ohls, who welcomed ESA Oklahoma State Council for the weekend.

President, Deb Hughes, presented the head table and introductions including special guests Vickie Farris, IC Recording Secretary, Rickie Brown, IC Senior Membership Chair from California and Sherry Day, IC Junior Membership Chair from Arizona.

St. Jude patient Haley Hubbard and her mother, Ty Herdade gave an enlightening presentation of Haley's 14 years with St. Jude. She plans to become a Physicians Assistant in December.

Parliamentarian, Linda Southerland, read the Convention Rules. She moved that the Convention Rules be adopted as printed in the Convention Program. Maxine Wheelan, Delta Chi, Midwest City seconded. Motion carried.

Convention Co-Chair Cheryl Young moved that the Convention Program be adopted as printed and distributed to the paid registrants of this convention. Jeanne Meyer, Delta Lambda, Muskogee seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The committee to read the minutes of the 67th Oklahoma State Convention is Chairman Jeanne Meyer, Maxine Wheelan, Judy Cravens, and Billie Fritch.

The committee to read the minutes of the March State Council meeting was Chairman, Patsy Timmons, Linda Southerland, and Peggie Sprinkle. Patsy Timmons reported the minutes were correct as printed. Tina Davenport-McKamie read regrets received from: Ardyce Briggs, Dana Chase, Dorothy Drumm, Charlene Harrell, Wanda Lucas, Billie Linville, Jamie Atchison, IC President and B.J. Clark. ESA Executive Director.

 Amber Alexander, Credentials Chairman gave the following credentials report: Number of Chapters: 39
Chapters in Attendance: 29
Eligible Votes: 54
Total Votes: 71

Amber Alexander moved adoption of the credentials report; seconded by Peggy Hughes, Beta Gamma, Tulsa. Motion carried.

Recording Secretary Charlene Law called roll.

2010 Registration Chairman Sandra Saunders presented the convention registration report: 148 members, 12 spouses, 8 guests, 168 total registrations.

Treasurer, Joyce Gibson, presented the final Treasurer's Report. Balance transferred from 2008-2009: \$4,758.05 Receipts: \$11,949.04 Disbursements: \$11,150.77 Balance May 1, 2010: \$5,556.32 General Fund: \$3,800.42 Speaker's Fund: \$1,214.19 IC Campaign Fund: \$219.36 Doer's Fund: \$322.25 Certificate of Deposit as of 04-3-2010: \$4,010.94

State Project Director, Robbin Brown, presented the State Project Fund Disbursement Report.

Balance forward 2008-2009: \$6,102.60 Receipts \$4,662.25 Disbursements: \$6,617.38 Balance as of April 29, 2010: \$4,145.47 Allocations for 2009-2010: \$6,066.69 Oklahoma School for the Deaf, 127 Students: \$3,800.00 Oklahoma School for the Blind, 98 Students: \$2,266.69

First Vice President/Nominating Committee Chairman, Jacque Edwards, introduced and thanked the members of the nominating committee: Lora Thompson, Aletha Bolt, Sue Knight and Peggy Pate. The candidates for the 2010-2011 Oklahoma State Council were presented.

President - Jacque Edwards, Kappa Theta, Guthrie 1st Vice President – Gwynn Nell Swanson, Delta Kappa, Norman 2nd Vice President – Joyce Gibson, Delta Kappa Norman Recording Secretary – Linda Southerland, Beta Psi, Clinton Parliamentarian – Peggy Sprinkle, Beta Gamma, Tulsa Treasurer – Tina Davenport McKamie, Beta Iota, McAlester State Project Director – Charlene Law, Gamma Delta, Tulsa Petticoat Journal Editor – Mary Adams, Gamma Pi, Inola Corresponding Secretary – Shelly Labus, Kappa Theta, Guthrie Senior Past President, Bunnie Sullins and Junior Past President, Deb Hughes were introduced.

Lora Thompson, Zeta Gamma, Shawnee, moved to elect these candidates by acclamation. Billye Peterson, Gamma Zeta, Edmond seconded the motion, motion carried.

The District Coordinators will be Nellrita Barrick, District II; Rosemary Benning, District III; Nancy Baucom, District IV and Jeanne Meyer, District V.

President, Deb Hughes, opened the floor for nominations for the 2010-2011 Nominating Committee. As First Vice President Gwynn Nell Swanson, Delta Kappa, Norman, will chair the committee and Deb Hughes, Jr. Past President will serve on the committee. The nominees are Robbin Brown, Zeta Gamma, Shawnee, Lisa Zachau, Gamma Pi, Inola, June Miller, Beta Iota, McAlester, and Billye Peterson, Gamma Zeta, Edmond. Gwynn Nell Swanson moved to close nominations and elect by acclamation, motion was seconded by Lora Thompson, Zeta Gamma, Shawnee, motion carried.

Vickie Farris IC Representative welcomed attendees to the convention and encouraged all members to promote Epsilon Sigma Alpha in every way they can.

Rita Hains, Membership Chair introduced new members pledged this year. There were three new pledges in attendance at this convention. Rita announced winners for Membership Contests.

Margaret Kramer, Outstanding Youth Chair presented the Jr. High Outstanding Youth winner Zach Garner sponsored by Beta Psi, Clinton and Senior High winner Conner Davey, sponsored by Delta Kappa, Norman.

Sue Patterson, DIANA Chair presented the DIANA Awards. The winner was Linda Butler, submitted by Delta Kappa Chapter, Norman.

ESA members presented non-perishable food items, monetary donations and reports in support of the ESA Virtual Food Drive. Oklahoma ranks 4th in the USA in the number of families that are living in a food insecure situation.

Convention announcements were made.

President, Deb Hughes recessed the First General Assembly of the 67th Annual Oklahoma State Convention at 11:05 a.m. to reconvene on Sunday Morning at 9:00 a.m.

Recess

Submitted by:

Charlene Law Oklahoma State Recording Secretary 2009-2010