Epsilon Sigma Alpha International Oklahoma State Council 68th Annual Oklahoma State Convention 2nd General Assembly Sunday May 1, 2011

The second General Assembly was called to seating at 9:15 am by Cathy Holsted, Convention Co-Chairman.

The call to order was given by Jacque Edwards and she declared the 2nd General Assembly to be in session at 9:20 am. She welcomed members and guest to the final session of the 68th Annual State Convention.

Vivian Gibson, chaplain gave the opening devotional "God Speak to Me". Vivian stressed the idea that you shouldn't miss out the blessings God gives because of the way it is packaged. She relayed thanks for all the help and all the prayers during her year as chaplain and then blessed the meal before the Brunch was served.

President Jacque made the following introductions:

Head Table: Rosalie Griffith- President, ESA Membership Corp, Past IC President and Sooner Seniorette; Judi York-IC Representative, IC Parliamentarian and Sooner Seniorette; Judy Craven, Awards Chairman; Tina Davenport-McKamie, Treasurer; Shelly Labus, Corresponding Secretary; Gwynn Nell Swanson, 1st Vice President/Nom. Committee Chair; Joyce Gibson, 2nd Vice President/Educ. Chair; Linda Southerland, Recording Secretary; Peggie Sprinkle, Parliamentarian; Vivian Gibson, Chaplain; and Ramona Paine, Convention Chair. Special Seating: Margaret Kramer, Auditor; Marcia Ellington, Easter Seals; Sue Knight, Sooner Seniorette President; Cathy Holsted-Past IC President, Past ESA Foundation Chairman, 2012 IC Convention Chair, 2011 OK State Convention Co-Chair and Sooner Seniorette; Charlene Law, Project Director; Joyce Lacey-Kenney, Publicity; Kay Brader, Scrapbook; Connie Johnson, AA Chair; Mary Adams, PJ Editor; and Brittany Labus, granddaughter of President Jacque. Special Introductions: Deb Hughes-IC Auditing Committee member and Sooner Seniorette: Dixie Palmer Founders and Sooner Seniorettes, Billie Fritch, Joyce Whitewing-Slate, Priscilla Drummond and Vivian Gibson; Lola Jaegers-Past ESA Foundation Chairman and Sooner Seniorette: Jeanne Meyer and Vivian Gibson-Past ESA Foundation Directors and Sooner Seniorettes and all the Sooner Seniorettes.

Jacque Edwards, President asked that the 2010-2011 Board please stand one last time and she thanked them for the time they devoted to their office the past year and gave a special thanks to Nancy Buck for being the Music Entertainer for the year.

Linda Southerland, Recording Secretary called the roll and reported that 138 were listed in attendance at the 1st General Assembly and 126 answered the call at the 2nd General Assembly. She then read the minutes of the 1st General Assembly.

Judy Cravens, Awards Chairman, presented Pallas Athene recognition and service awards.

President Jacque announced the nominating committee for 2011-2012 as follows: Joyce Gibson, Chair; Lola Jaegers, District IV; Nellrita Barrick, District II; Peggie Sprinkle, District III; and Peggy Pate, District V.

The auditor's report was given by Margaret Kramer. She audited the books of the Treasurer, Directory, 2011 Convention, P. J. and State Project and found all to be in good order.

The order of business was interrupted by the Sooner Seniorettes for Jacque's induction into the Sooner Seniorettes.

2nd Vice President, Tina Davenport-McKamie announced her educational theme for 2011-2012 will be "Get Fit-Get Healthy".

Joyce Gibson, 1st Vice President gave information concerning the 2013 Convention bid. Joyce then made a motion that the 2013 convention be held on April 26, 27, 28, 2013 at the Holiday Inn in Norman. The theme will be "ESA, Treasures of the Sea" and the Convention Chair will be Cathy Holsted. Motion was seconded by Connie Johnson, Kappa Theta, Guthrie. MOTION CARRIED.

Sue Knight presented the new Sooner Seniorettes officers for 2011-2012. They will be as follows: Robbin Brown, President; Deb Hughes, Secretary/Treasurer; and Jacque Edwards, Historian.

A special presentation of wooden cars, painted by ESA members was given to Sue Cole, OSD; Jeanne Meyer, OSB; and Marcie Ellington, Easter Seals by President Jacque.

Marcie Ellington, Easter Seals Chair reported that \$3,754.99 had been donated to Easter Seals this year.

President Jacque gave thanks and recognition to her convention host chapters and the convention committees and presented a gift to Ramona Paine and Cathy Holsted. Ramona then presented a gift to Jacque. A gift to Cathy and Ramona was presented by Aletha Bolt from the convention committee.

A farewell message was given by Judi York, IC representative. In the message, she recognized Ramona Paine and Cathy Holsted, and recalled IC President Dora Dill's, theme, "One Dream – One Vision". Following the message, she presented a gift to Jacque Edwards and Gwynn Nell Swanson.

Special presentations were given to those chapters who contributed more than one page to Jacque's scrapbook.

Joyce Whitewing-Slate and Jacque Edwards gave a special recognition to IC Representative Judi York for wearing many hats throughout this convention and presented her with a gift and the Oklahoma special recognition of the red feather given to all IC Reps.

Special gifts were given to Jacque by Mary Adams, PJ Editor, Joyce Lacey-Kenney, Publicity Chair, and Kay Brader, Scrapbook Chair.

Gwynn Nell Swanson, 1st Vice President, presented to Jacque a quilt designed and sewn by Gwynn Nell and a full Jewel Crown Pin as the president's gift.

Connie Johnson and Brittany Labus made a very special presentation to President Jacque. "A Walk Down Memory Lane" began with Jacque first becoming a member and ending with Connie asking Shelly Labus to present Jacque a gift from her late husband and Shelly's father earning Jacque recognition as a Robert and Dixie Palmer Award recipient. Connie then presented Jacque with a gift basket from Kappa Theta.

The president's 2010-2011 farewell message was given by Jacque Edwards followed by raffle drawing winners and door prizes.

Lora Thompson, Zeta Gamma, lowered the gavel of 2010-2011 president Jacque Edwards. Mozelle Smith, Delta Kappa raised the gavel of 2011-2012 president Gwynn Nell Swanson. This was followed by the presentation of the gavel to Gwynn Nell and the 2011-2012 President's speech and the introduction of the 2011-2012 Executive and General Board.

President Gywnn Nell asked that Rosalie Griffith, Sooner Seniorette; President, ESA Membership Corp and Past IC President retire the flags.

Gwynn Nell Swanson adjourned the 68th Annual Oklahoma State Convention with the closing ritual at 1:46 p.m.

Linda Southerland State Recording Secretary 2010-2011