EPSILON SIGMA ALPHA 70TH ANNUAL OKLAHOMA STATE CONVENTION Second General Assembly Sunday, April 28, 2013

Chaplain Robbin Brown gave the invocation and brunch was served.

President Joyce Gibson declared the second General Assembly in session at 10:45 a.m.

Ramona Paine, Recording Secretary Pro tem, moved and seconded that the minutes of the 1st General Assembly of the 70th Annual Oklahoma State Convention be dispensed with the reading. MOTION CARRIED. The attendance will be taken from the attendance slips to be turned in at the end of the session.

President Gibson made the following introductions of the head table: Vivian Gibson, Corresponding Secretary; Linda Southerland, 2nd Vice President; Sandy Alexander, IC Representative; Tina McKamie, 1st Vice President; Nancy Baucom, Parliamentarian; Ramona Paine, Recording Secretary Pro tem and Dr. Billye Peterson, Treasurer.

President Gibson announced that the 2012-2013 Executive and General Board were honored with the President's engraved tray.

Karen Barker, Auditor, reported that she had audited the books of the Treasurer, Directory, *Petticoat Journal* and were found to be in good order.

President Gibson, presented the Nominating Committee for 2013-2014 as follows: Mona Quaid Martin, Byrdie Emanuel, Karen Barker and Lola Jaegers.

Dr. Billye Peterson, 2nd Vice President, announced her 2013-2014 educational theme: "Take an Idea...Play It Forward" which will be an arts and crafts project at each Council meeting that one can take back to their chapter and hopefully, make it and then use it for a secret sister gift, nursing home residents, etc.

Linda Southerland, Second Vice President, had Gwynn Nell Swanson and Nancy Buck the 2015 Convention Chairmen presented the 2015 convention bid. The Convention will be April 24, 25, 26, 2015 at the Biltmore Hotel in Oklahoma City. The room rate will be \$69 plus tax. The convention theme will be "Love Comes in All Colors," with Beta Psi, Clinton; Delta Kappa, Norman; Beta Zeta, Oklahoma City; Gamma Zeta, Edmond and Theta Tau, Kingfisher as hostess chapters. Linda Southerland moved and seconded that the 2015 Oklahoma State Convention bid be accepted as presented. MOTION CARRIED. Sooner Seniorette President Wanda Lucas, led the Sooner Seniorette induction ceremony for President Gibson.

Wanda Lucas presented the new Sooner Seniorettes officers for 2013-2014. They are as follows: Nadine Moyer, President; Secretary/Treasurer, Gwynn Nell Swanson and Historian Joyce Gibson.

The following were recognized as jewels: Nancy and Russell Baucom, Margaret Kramer, Rosalie Griffith, Linda Voss, Ramona Paine and Dr. Billye Peterson by President Gibson.

Joyce Whitewing substituting for Mary Johnson drew Dr. Billye Peterson's name for the Hope for Heroes quilt. The quilt raffle money was to go to the Hugs Project. Beta lota and Zeta Gamma each won \$100 in the Hope for Heroes project. Beta lota donated the money back to the Hope for Heroes chairman.

President Gibson presented her pins to the pledges: Schlunda Leslie, Tammy Bowman, Stacey Clement and Arin and First Timers: Paula Willingham, Maggie Sellers, Lisa Williams, Schlunda Leslie, Tammy Bowman, Jenny Lizama, Amanda Dunn and Lori Few.

President Gibson presented gifts to Lori Few, vocalist and to Stormy and Olivia Simmons for their service during the convention.

Anastasia Pittman, Representative #99 to the House of Representatives, made a special presentation to President Gibson with a special Commendation/Citation for her service in leading the Oklahoma State Council of Epsilon Sigma Alpha.

IC Recording Secretary, Sandy Alexander, gave the IC Farewell message. Joyce Whitewing made Sandy Alexander an honorary member of Oklahoma ESA.

The following chairmen presented their gifts to the President: State Council gift of a crystal jewel and a certificate state scrapbook by Nellrita Barrick, publicity book by Leslie Farabee and issues of the *Petticoat Journal* by Donna Shook. Linda Southerland read a special poem to President Gibson. Janice Shockley, President of Delta Kappa, gave a special gift to President Gibson from her chapter. Peggie Sprinkle presented a special thank you certificate from District III to President Gibson.

President Gibson presented the Jewel Award to her chapter, Delta Kappa. Vivian Gibson, Corresponding Secretary, gave special thanks to Gwynn Nell Swanson, Linda Leveridge and Mozelle Smith for their help throughout the convention and year to her and President Gibson.

President Joyce Gibson, gave the 2012-2013 State President's closing message followed by 50/50 jar drawing winner and other drawings.

President Gibson's gavel was lowered by Billie Fritch assisted by Vivian Gibson and Tina's gavel was raised by June Miller. This was followed by the presentation of the gavel to Tina Davenport McKamie and the 2013-2014 President's speech, and the introduction of the 2013-2014 Executive and General Board.

Vivian Gibson presented the ceremony in the retirement of the flags and President McKamie adjourned the 70th State Convention with the closing ritual.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:45 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Ramona Paine Recording Secretary, Pro Tem