## 71<sup>st</sup> ANNUAL OKLAHOMA STATE CONVENTION Second General Assembly Sunday, April 27, 2014

Chaplain Nellrita Barrick gave the invocation and brunch was served.

President Tina Davenport McKamie declared the second General Assembly in session at 9:54 a.m.

President Tina welcomed everyone to the final session of the year. She asked if everyone had turned in their attendance sheets to Nancy Baucom, Recording Secretary and asked for those who hadn't to please do so. While this was taking place, Tina recognized the hostess chapters: Alpha Zeta, Pawhuska; Beta Iota, McAlester and Epsilon Kappa, Hominy.

Nancy Baucom, Recording Secretary, moved to dispense with the reading of the 1<sub>st</sub> General Assembly minutes of the 71<sup>st</sup> Annual Oklahoma State Convention. Lora Thompson, Zeta Gamma, Shawnee seconded the motion. MOTION CARRIED.

President Tina introduced the head table June Miller, Convention Chairman; Margaret Kramer, Treasurer; Deb Hughes, IC Representative; Jennifer Stewart, Corresponding Secretary; Linda Southerland, 1st Vice President / President-elect and 2014 State President; Robyn Ryan, Parliamentarian; Nancy Baucom, Recording Secretary/soon to be 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President and Billye Peterson, 2nd Vice President/soon to be 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President.

Tina introduced her 2013-2014 Executive and General Board. She recognized our IC Representative, Deb Hughes and presented her with a token of love and appreciation. Tina also recognized the Sooner Seniorettes.

Janet Goodfox, Auditor, reported that all the books that were submitted were audited and found to be correct and in good order.

The election results for the 2014-2015 Nominating Committee are as follows: Synovia Lemmings, Marla Tyndle, Brenda Beed and Mary Johnson.

Nancy Baucom, 2014-2015 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President/Educational Director announced the Educational Theme – Share the Gift of Music with ESA.

Billye Peterson and the 2016 Convention Co-Chairmen, Robbin Brown and Linda Coniglio presented the 2016 Convention Bid: The convention will be April 29, 30 & May 1, 2016 at the Sheraton Hotel, Midwest City. The room rate is \$102 plus tax. The Convention theme is "America the Beautiful" with Gamma Zeta, Edmond; Zeta Gamma, Shawnee; Zeta Epsilon, Seminole and Beta Psi, Clinton as hostess chapters. Billye Peterson moved that the 2016 Oklahoma State Convention bid be accepted as

presented. Motion was seconded by Mary Johnson, Epilson Kappa, Hominy. MOTION CARRIED.

Sooner Seniorette President, Nadine Moyer-Rader, led the Sooner Seniorette induction ceremony for President Tina Davenport McKamie.

Nadine Moyer-Rader presented the new Sooner Seniorettes officers for 2014-2015 They are as follows: Bunnie Sullins, President; Secretary/Treasurer, Joyce Gibson and Historian Tina Davenport McKamie.

IC Representative, Deb Hughes, gave the IC Farewell message. Deb presented an Award of Achievement to Nellrita Barrick.

Rosalie Griffith presented Deb with our traditional Indian feather headband as an honorary member of Oklahoma ESA.

Billye Peterson read a special poem to President Tina Davenport McKamie entitled "High Heels and High Hopes" and Linda Southerland presented the State Council gift of a Life Active Foundation Membership and Pin to her.

President Tina presented the Crystal Slipper Award Certificates to Delta Kappa, Norman; Beta Iota, McAlester and Tammy Bowman.

Tina presented Rosalie Griffith with a thank you gift for being our guest speaker at our banquet. She also presented Cathy Holsted, June Miller, Judi York and all the board members with thank you gifts.

Raffle drawing prizes were given out and the following gifts were presented to the President: Full Crown Jewel Pin by Tawanna Cathey, Beta Iota's Chapter President and state scrapbooks by Leslie Farabee.

President Tina's gavel was lowered by June Miller and Linda's gavel was raised by Robbin Brown. This was followed by Tina's farewell speech; the passing of the gavel to the 2014-2015 State President, Linda Southerland; the 2014-2015 President's message, and the introduction of the 2014-2015 Executive and General Board.

Bunnie Sullins presented the retirement of the flags ceremony and presented Tina with the American Flag that was flown over the state capital and explained the meaning of the thirteen folds.

President Linda Southerland adjourned the 71<sup>st</sup> State Convention with the closing ritual.

Submitted by: Nancy Baucom, State Recording Secretary, 2013-2014