Epsilon Sigma Alpha International
79th Annual Oklahoma State Convention
"April Showers Bring May Flowers"
Embassy Suites Hotel, Tulsa, OK
First General Assembly
April 30, 2022

Chaplain, Cheryl Tarter conducted a beautiful Celebration of Life service.

Oklahoma State Council President, Sandy Lackey called the Second General Assembly to order at approximately 9 a.m. She reminded members to give attendance sheets to Recording Secretary, Darla Barton.

Secretary Darla moved the Council dispense with the reading of the 1st General Assembly minutes of this Convention. Gwynn Nell Swanson seconded. A vote was taken; motion carried. President Sandy sated the minutes will be distributed within 45 days of this Convention and posted on the Oklahoma ESA website.

President Sandy announced the committee to read today's minutes was Chair, Kay Brader, Hali Simmons and Mona Johnston.

Parliamentarian, Charlene Law reported there were no by-law changes to present.

1st Vice President, Nominating Committee Chair, Linda Jones presented her slate of officers for 2022-2023. Western District Coordinator/Sooner Seniorette, Linda Leveridge; Eastern District Coordinator, Darlene Cushenberry; Jr. Past President/Disaster Fund Chair, Sandy Lackey; Corresponding Secretary, Eileen Wiley; Parliamentarian/Sooner Seniorette, Robbin Brown; State Project Director, Liz King; Petticoat Journal Editor, Charlene Law; Treasurer, Jennifer Sparkman; Recording Secretary, Darla Barton; 1st Vice President, Patty Heer; President, Linda Jones. Linda moved the Slate of Officers be elected by acclamation. Mara Wheeler seconded. Following no objections, President Sandy announced the Slate of Officers was approved as presented.

VP, Linda gave a presentation of her 2023 State Convention. The date would be April 28-29, 2023. The theme will be "ESA, the Stars Come Out." It will be held at

the Tulsa Marriott Southern Hills. Convention Co-Chairs are Judi York and Cheryl Young.

President, Sandy opened the floor for elections of the 2023-2024 Nominating Committee. As 1st Vice President, Patty Heer will chair the Committee and as Jr. Past President, Sandy will serve as a member. Four more members need to be elected; two from the Eastern District and two from the Western District. Nominees were Brenda Yates and Dawn Haley from Eastern District; Jacci Gantz and Linda Leveridge from Western District.

Margaret Kramer moved the nominations are closed. 1st Vice President, Patty Heer seconded. With no objection, the nominating committee is approved as presented.

Auditor, Rita Hains presented her audit report, stating that she had audited the books of the State Treasurer, State Project and the Petticoat Journal. They are all in order.

Cheryl Young announced the introduction of the hotel staff would be presented that evening.

Educational Chair, Ramona Paine recognized chapters that participated in turning in reports of her educational theme.

Incoming Educational Chair, Jacque Cantrel presented her 2022-2023 Educational theme; "Route 66 Diners/Drive-in's, East to West Coast."

Sooner Seniorette, Peggie Sprinkle gave the Sooner Seniorette Report; Sooner Seniorette President, Margaret Kramer; Secretary/Treasurer, Linda Leveridge; Historian, Sandy Lackey.

Sooner Seniorettes inducted Sandy Lackey as their newest member.

Credentials Chair, Mara Wheeler reported that all eligible voting delegates had received their ballots. There were 28 chapters eligible to vote and 18 chapters in attendance eligible to vote. This gave a total of 30 eligible votes at the 2022 IC Convention.

Photographer, Jerry Hymer announced that pictures from this Convention would be on his website until May 14th. Members had until then to purchase photos.

IC Rep, Sandy Fletcher presented a workshop by highlighting sites and things to do in Indianapolis, IN.

President, Sandy recognized her outgoing General and Executive Board.

Sandy Lackey was presented with gifts, as outgoing President. She presented gifts to the IC and MARC Reps. Sandy recognized the Convention host chapters, Alpha Theta, Beta Gamma and Kappa Alpha. Sandy purchased the customary President's charm to add the gavel for herself and 1st VP, Patty Heer. Sandy, on advice from the jeweler, dubbed the President's gavel a "history gavel." Adding the charms each year had made the gavel too heavy to use, so Sandy purchased a new gavel to use for meetings. Future President's would still purchase the customary charm for the "history gavel." Sandy presented the gavels to Incoming President, Linda Jones.

Sandy gave her 2021-2022 State President's farewell address.

Incoming President, Linda Jones gave her 2022-2023 Incoming President's acceptance speech. Her theme will be, "ESA Shine Bright Like a Diamond." She introduced her Executive and General Board.

Being ahead of schedule, Sandy adjourned the meeting, until after the Awards Ceremony.

The "Time to Bloom" Awards Luncheon was held. Winners were recognized.

IC Rep, Sandy Fletcher gave her closing remarks.

MARC Rep, BJ Voll gave her closing remarks.

The raising and lowering of the incoming/outgoing President's gavel was postponed until the evening.

The flags were retired.

Sandy declared, the 2nd General Assembly of the 79th Annual Convention meeting adjourned. Members recited the Closing Ritual.

Submitted by Darla Barton/Recording Secretary